ELANIK - METAL ANALYZER. CARBON ANALYSIS IN STEELS AND CAST IRONS.

One of the important applications of ELANIK is the analysis of carbon concentration in steel and cast iron.

Steel is the most common alloy, and carbon concentration has a significant impact on its properties (ductility, strength and hardness, weldability, etc.).

The determination of carbon concentration is very important when using steel in industry. This is one of the most relevant and complex tasks of elemental express analysis for portable devices.

Hand-held X-ray fluorescence analyzers cannot measure carbon. Analysis of carbon using optical emission spectrometers requires the use of argon, careful preparation for measurement and highly qualified specialists. In addition, they are bulky and almost impossible to use in hard to reach places or at heights.

ELANIK is the first hand-held analyzer measuring the concentration of carbon in metals and alloys directly in the air. Other elements of the alloy are analyzed at the same time.

One of the important tasks is to measure carbon in unalloyed steels, since more than 80% of metal products in the world are produced from them. Due to the absence of alloying elements, it is impossible to determine the grade indirectly, by the content of other elements, which are sometimes used by XRF in the analysis of alloyed steels.

Анализ концентрации углерода в чугунах
ELANIK carbon analysis.png

CARBON EQUIVALENT (CE) AND WELDABILITY OF STEELS

Weldability is one of the most important properties of structural steels, since most metal structures are welded. The chemical composition of steel has a significant effect on its weldability. One of the most important technological indicators of weldability is the carbon equivalent (CE). It allows you to evaluate the combined effect of carbon and other elements contained in steel on its weldability, and helps to choose the optimal welding technology and mode.

ELANIK performs multielement quantitative analysis (including C, Mn, Cr, Si, Mo, V, Cu, Ni, etc.) - so, for the convenience of our customers using ELANIK during welding or heat treatment, we introduced the calculation of the carbon equivalent for low alloyed and medium alloyed steels (calculation formula can be chosen by the customer when ordering). CE is displayed on the screen of the device simultaneously with the chemical composition and allows you to immediately see the estimation of the weldability of steel.

The default is the Dearden and O'Neill formula recommended by the International Welding Institute (IIW) and the following scale for evaluating weldability:

CE_steel weldability_ELANIK.jpg

Since LIBS metal analyzer ELANIK measures carbon, it makes it possible to distinguish between steel grades that differ only in carbon.

An important advantage of ELANIK is the possibility of conducting an estimation of CE “in the field”, right at the place of welding and the construction of metal structures, pipelines, etc.

ЭЛАНИК - АНАЛИЗАТОР МЕТАЛЛОВ. АНАЛИЗ УГЛЕРОДА В СТАЛЯХ И ЧУГУНАХ

Стали - самые распространенные сплавы, а концентрация углерода существенно влияет на их свойства (пластичность, прочность и твердость, свариваемость и др.).

Определение концентрации углерода играет важную роль при использовании сталей в промышленности. Это одна из самых актуальных и сложных задач элементного экспресс-анализа для портативных приборов.

Ручные рентгено-флуоресцентные анализаторы не могут анализировать углерод. Анализ углерода оптико-эмиссионным методом в железных сплавах усложняется тем, что эмиссионные линии углерода «замазываются» матрицей железа и другими элементами, которые могут присутствовать.

 

ЭЛАНИК - первый ручной портативный анализатор металлов и сплавов с измерением концентрации углерода. Одновременно анализируются и другие элементы сплава.  

Особенно важной является задача измерения углерода в нелегированных сталях, так как из них производится более 80% металлических изделий в мире. Из-за отсутствия легирующих элементов невозможно определить марку косвенным образом, по содержанию других элементов, чем иногда пользуются РФА в случае анализа легированных сталей. 

Лазерный анализатор металлов и сплавов ЭЛАНИК позволяет измерять концентрацию углерода (до 0,01%) в нелегированных сталях прямо на воздухе (без использования инертного газа) и различать марки стали, которые отличаются только по углероду, что до сих пор недоступно ни одному из ручных анализаторов.  

УГЛЕРОДНЫЙ ЭКВИВАЛЕНТ И СВАРИВАЕМОСТЬ СТАЛЕЙ

Свариваемость — одно из важнейших свойств конструкционных сталей, так как большинство металлоконструкций являются сварными. Значительное влияние на свариваемость стали оказывает её химический состав. Одним из важнейших технологических показателей свариваемости является углеродный эквивалент (СЕ). Он позволяет оценить совместное влияние на свариваемость содержащихся в стали углерода и других элементов, помогает подобрать оптимальный режим и технологию сварки.

Так как ЭЛАНИК осуществляет многоэлементный количественный анализ (включая С, Mn, Cr, Si, Mo, V, Cu, Ni и др.), для удобства наших потребителей, использующих ЭЛАНИК при сварке и термообработке, мы ввели расчет углеродного эквивалента для низколегированных и среднелегированных сталей (формула расчета может быть выбрана потребителем при заказе). СЕ выводится на дисплей прибора одновременно с расчетом концентраций химических элементов и позволяет сразу увидеть экспресс-оценку свариваемости стали.

По умолчанию используется формула Деардена и О-Нила, рекомендованная Международным институтом сварки (IIW) и следующая шкала для оценки свариваемости:

Важным достоинством ЭЛАНИКа является возможность проведения экспресс-оценки СЕ «в поле», прямо на месте проведения сварочных работ и возведения металлоконструкций, трубопроводов и пр.

© 2019 ООО "Лазер-экспорт".

Тел. +7-499-578-05-48     E-mail: sales@laser-export.com  

117342, г. Москва, ул. Введенского, д. 3, корп. 8.